Dream: Impossible House

I think I was working in an apartment complex somewhere doing maintenance or restoration. I had an open area outside, maybe under a carport, where I had dragged items from various jobs that needed repairs to keep them organized.

Suddenly, I was flying with someone…more like floating with someone. I never did see who it was, but I was being led high over a “neighborhood” full of impossibly built, impossibly lavish homes with multi-level entertainment areas built outside in various transparent pods connected by stairs and, I assume, held up by insanely tall pylons (think The Jetson’s homes but all connected by iron stairways and catwalks. They sorta looked more like those segmented sunrooms people build on the back of their small, ranch homes).

As we neared one of the main houses, the people in the pods looked up and pointed at us. I was terribly nervous because I couldn’t figure out how we were flying. Was it a helicopter? No. Was it some kind of drone? I don’t hear the whirring of blades. We climbed up and over the house and set down on the ground on the opposite side of the main house.

The “somebody” who was with me led me into the main entrance and down a spiral staircase where I was introduced to the owner. In that room I looked up and saw there was a massive leak coming right through the ceiling. I offered to take a look for him.

As I climbed through what must have been multiple floors to a massive and lavish atrium with maybe 40ft ceilings, I could surmise the source of the leak: the rooftop pool.

Impossible job.

I ran through, in my head, what would be required to repair the leak and the floors and ceilings of every floor beneath it; pump out the pool, giant scissor lifts and teams of skilled tradesmen for repairing the atrium ceiling, marble tile craftsmen, concrete pump-truck, etc…Millions of dollars in repairs.

It’d be easier to tear the place down and re-build it, I thought, but it probably costs hundreds-of-millions to build in the first place, so I figured it was an opportunity to make some real money for the first time in my life – even though the job was way above my pay-grade.

When I got back to the apartment complex I realized I’d never labeled all the parts and pieces I’d collected from the various jobs there and didn’t know which ones went to which apartment.


The most vivid dream I can remember having in a while – and only the third flying dream I can recall. I thank my daemon for the amazing show. Now to ponder the significance…

3 comments

  1. WriterOfWordsEtc · November 10

    Oh my, the symbolism is aplenty! Wonder what the spiral staircase symbolizes.

    Water has multiple meanings in the Tarot community: it associates with emotions, feelings and sometimes to the Moon and its power (tides).

    Flying too probably means something…

    I will give it some thought. Since you published your dream on the public domain… 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • sudrakarma · November 10

      Found this: ‘Carl Jung thought that the form of a spiral represented the idea of “eternal return” in the pattern of human thought and insisted that the archetypal symbol represented the cosmic force (Bobroff, p. 27). Various ancient cultures viewed the spiral as a symbol for journey, growth, and evolution. From timeless edifices to contemporary architecture, one can observe the spiral form in building structures; such as staircases, domes, and spires.’

      Also, traveling to lower levels in a house is typically seen as descending into the unconscious.

      Liked by 1 person

    • sudrakarma · November 10

      One could say there’s a danger of “flooding the unconscious” in this scenario, too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment